Review: The Dinosaur That Pooped Books…The McFly Boys!

Ok, I am just going to say this really quickly and get it out of the way… I am a secret McFly Fan, I know that as a thirty something woman I am not their target market, but you just can’t help singing along to their songs.

It was through their music that I started to watch Tom’s YouTube channel and I remember when he announced that he had written a children’s book with Dougie about dinosaurs and poo. At the time Alice was only little and I thought what a strange idea. Will parents want to read to their children about poo?

Fast forward a couple of years and you enter the stage where your child says poo and talks about poo all the time, I have no clue why. It was then that the books Tom and Dougie had written made complete sense to me.

So, when I got sent their new books The Dinosaur That Pooped Daddy and The Dinosaur That Pooped A Rainbow I couldn’t wait to have a read myself.

Alice loves to read books and the covers of these were so lovely and bright they caught her attention as soon as they arrived.

Daddy-alice

With Fathers’ Day just around the corner I thought The Dinosaur That Pooped Daddy would have made an ideal gift, but Alice couldn’t wait and daddy had to see it straight away.

What I loved about the book was not only the humour of it, but that it got Alice counting without realising that she was doing it. The story is about finding daddy and they count from ten to one and help Danny and Dino find his hiding place.

Daddy

Alice laughed out so loudly when she got to the end to find daddy in a pile of poo!

The Dinosaur That Pooped A Rainbow was just as funny and this time Alice was helping Danny and Dino name the pretty colours.

rainbow

What was brilliant is because Alice already knew the colours, she was looking more at the words and started to spell them out. I would say this was probably her first attempt to read the words herself unprompted from us.

Rainbow-alice

Holly was napping when Alice was reading them with Andy, but once she woke up Alice went and fetched the books and she read them to her in her own little way. I can see that these books are going to be well loved books by my two little bookworms.

rainbow-alice1

My girls love to make and decorate cards for every occasion, so when daddy was out of the way they loved drawing a picture of themselves in the Dinosaur That Pooped Fathers’ Day card. I even managed to get them to keep these for Fathers’ Day.

Fathers-Day-Card

They also have these great activity sheets you can print off. I am always looking for new fun ways to teach Alice and these are perfect. Because she recognised Dino from the books, she thought it was great fun and so much learning involved too, which is a bonus for me!

Activity-Sheet

I never thought it would happen, but I am now a fan of books that contain poo! Plus I love the fact the boy in them is called Danny…maybe a little nod to someone they know only too well!!!

If you are looking for a great Fathers’ Day gift for cheeky dads, you can find them here. You can also print off your The Dinosaur That Pooped Fathers’ Day card here. There you go Fathers’ Day sorted, you can thank me later…

Signature

Disclosure: We were sent these books for the purpose of this review however all opinions and views are my own.

Marvellous Mondays badge by Hello Archie

Mummascribbles

Follow:
Share this:

35 Comments

  1. 13/06/2016 / 07:15

    I still don’t get chgildren’s fascination with poo. Have to say O’s not really there yet, although he loves his book about a bear that needs a wee! So maybe soon! Glad your daughter enjoyed it! #MarvMondays

  2. 13/06/2016 / 07:15

    I still don’t get children’s fascination with poo. Have to say O’s not really there yet, although he loves his book about a bear that needs a wee! So maybe soon! Glad your daughter enjoyed it! #MarvMondays

  3. 13/06/2016 / 09:22

    These look like great little books. As you say, anything with dinosaurs and poo is going to be a winner with little ones! I havent come across these books before and really like the sound of them so will keep my eyes peeled for them. Great suggestions for fathers day gifts 😉 Thanks for sharing this on #MarvMondays. Emily

  4. 13/06/2016 / 10:50

    These sound like great books, I like how bright and eye catching they are. And you’ve gotta love a bit of McFly!
    Nat.x
    Plutonium Sox recently posted…Thursday Photo #109My Profile

  5. 13/06/2016 / 11:03

    No need to be a secret Mcfly fan lol. These books look so good though, I love ‘The dinosaur that pooped’ series x

  6. 13/06/2016 / 11:33

    They look like really funny books, so good when kids are little. There’s nothing like hearing them laugh with glee and poo is always a good topic for this 🙂 I still remember some of our favourite books that we read to our girls, I kept them all to show them when and if they have kids themselves.
    Cliona recently posted…An Original by Sandra Petit-Frère, Luxury Bag ReviewMy Profile

  7. 13/06/2016 / 12:11

    I’ve purchased two of their books recently which I’m waiting to arrive in the post.
    Not these two though, they look fun and colourful books.

  8. 13/06/2016 / 16:31

    Great review! Sounds like such a fun book that kids will love. 🙂

  9. 13/06/2016 / 16:39

    Love the Tom Fletcher and Dougie Pontieff books! Both are so much fun to follow on social media – and yes, still a McFly fan :p x
    Zoe Forde recently posted…Appreciate the Little ThingsMy Profile

  10. 13/06/2016 / 20:50

    Oh we love the original book so will definitely take a look at these new books, as we also have a little one who has a fascination with the word Poo! #MarvMonday
    Jo from Organised Jo recently posted…How I use a storage benchMy Profile

  11. 13/06/2016 / 22:19

    I’ve looked at these books a few times as I love Tom Fletcher’s (and Gi’s) YouTube channels and having a peek into their family life so I though the books would be funny! I’m sort of put off my poo though as my 4.5 year old has an obsession with it as it is!

  12. 14/06/2016 / 00:10

    I can never understand kids obsession with poo either buts its cool that Dougie and Tom wrote a children’s book together!
    Ana De- Jesus recently posted…Apricot S/S 16 LookbookMy Profile

  13. 14/06/2016 / 09:49

    We love the dinosaur that pooped a planet by him too – these look fabulous! Lovely to see your hubby and Alice reading together, my husband hardly ever does with our kids, it’s my thing to do with them…maybe this would spur him on if i got it as a present for him…
    I love McFly too – I wanted to marry Harry Judd for quite a while… 😉 Hahahaha!!!!
    Gems.x
    #twinklytuesday
    Gemma Nuttall recently posted…The Swimming Gala…My Profile

  14. 14/06/2016 / 10:51

    I was looking at these books in Asda, Archie loves dinosaurs but because of his autism he doesn’t get the poop thing but I bet he would love them in a few years 🙂 #twinklytuesdays
    Toni @ Gym Bunny mummy recently posted…A HANDY GUIDE TO PARKS IN LONDONMy Profile

  15. 14/06/2016 / 21:18

    I don’t get the fascination with poo. Maybe I’m still a bit young yet, but not so sure my folks would read this to me now. They like reading old fashioned fairytales to me but this book does look bright and colourful 🙂 #TriedTested
    Baby Isabella recently posted…Silent Sunday 12.06.16My Profile

  16. 14/06/2016 / 21:18

    I don’t get the fascination with poo. Maybe I’m still a bit young yet, but not so sure my folks would read this to me now. They like reading old fashioned fairytales to me but this book does look bright and colourful 🙂 #TwinklyTuesday
    Baby Isabella recently posted…Silent Sunday 12.06.16My Profile

  17. 15/06/2016 / 06:03

    Ah we have these, great books for kids. My six year old loves them. I don’t get why kids find poo so interesting lol

  18. 16/06/2016 / 07:30

    We’ve got the dinosaur that pooped Christmas and I keep meaning to get the others they’ve written! Also, you are not alone – I’m 33 and I totally love Mcfly!!! Thanks for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday

  19. 29/06/2016 / 19:11

    These look like great fun! Love the illustrations.

  20. 29/06/2016 / 19:11

    These look like great fun! Love the illustrations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge