Review: Getting Ready For School With Debenhams…Plus a Fantastic Giveaway!


With Alice finishing preschool on Wednesday I can no longer pretend it’s not happening, Alice will be going to school in September, fact!

Plus, Alice doesn’t stop talking about it, the conversation goes like this…

“Mum, it will be my birthday soon, yes?”

“That’s right Alice, in a couple of weeks”

“Then, I will go to big school?”


“And when will I get my school shoes?”

This conversation has been going on for along time and I guess I should be pleased that Alice is so excited about it and the settling in days went well.

Every time we go into a shoe shop Alice heads straight to the school shoes and looks longingly, desperate for the day that I say “yes, it’s time to buy your school shoes”.

Well, thanks to Debenhams that day has come when they asked if we would like to try out their Back to School Essentials Range. Alice was so excited and started jumping up and down, here is what we brought ready for Alice to start school in September…

Of course first choice was the school shoes, there was no way she was going to look at anything else until she had her shoes. There were lots to choose from and I must admit Debenhams would not have been somewhere I would have thought about going to for school shoes.


I wanted Alice to have leather shoes and I gave her a couple of options and she choose these gorgeous Mary Jane leather shoes, which have a gorgeous flower detail on the strap. They are really easy for Alice to do up, which is another important factor to consider.


Of course no shoes are complete without socks and I don’t know why but I just had a thing about little girls frilly white ankle socks. They just look so cute on!

With the english weather so unpredictable I have no idea how long Alice will wear her summer school dress and I wanted to be prepared and have a winter dress ready in the wardrobe. I went for a traditional pleated dress which really suited Alice. It features durable ‘Teflon’ technology that protects fabric and repels water, oil and stains, which is what every parent wants!


They also have a lovely grey dress with a bow at the waist, which was sadly sold out in Alice’s size, but I will be keeping my eye out for that coming back into stock.

And finally to be prepared for those cold days, we brought these lovely Bluezoo diamond knit tights. They are lovely and soft and will go perfectly with Alice’s dress.


So, there we go my big girl is definitely all ready to start school and while she is jumping for joy…


I am off to buy a large box of tissues for me…

Debenhams currently have 20% of their Back to School essentials range and we are really pleased with the quality of their clothes and shoes.

Mary Jane Shoes – £20.80 (including 20% discount)

Blue zoo frilly Socks – £4.50 (pack of two)

Girls Grey Traditional Dress – £8 (including 20% discount)

Blue zoo grey diamond tights – £9 (pack of three)

Debenhams are giving one lucky winner a chance to win a £40 Gift Card to spend on Back To School Essentials. If you would like to be in with a chance to win this prize, just complete one or more entries on the Rafflecopter below and please read my giveaway disclaimer first before entering. Good luck!


Disclosure: All products were bought using a gift card from Debenhams as part of their back to school campaign. All views and opinions are my own.

Note: Alice will be wearing a red polo shirt with her dress when she starts, but it hasn’t arrived yet. So, for the purpose of this post she is wearing her own white t-shirt. Also, due to the heat I didn’t want her to wear the tights, its just too hot!!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Marvellous Mondays badge by Hello Archie

Share this:


  1. July 25, 2016 / 07:31

    Awwww bless her, she looks really cute & very happy to wear her new uniform. She is going to be sooooo excited come that first day of school. Totally agree about he bunker box of tissues, I certainly needed it on the first day! #MarvMondays
    Jo from Organised Jo recently posted…How we said thank you to the TeachersMy Profile

  2. Tracy Nixon
    July 25, 2016 / 07:35

    Thank you so much! little Alice looks adorable in her uniform!

  3. July 25, 2016 / 07:48

    Aww! How cute!
    My son just finished Infant school and in September will be starting the Juniors! It’s so bittersweet, you’re happy they’re growing and thriving and excited for all their new adventures but a little bit sad too!
    I hope she has a great time come September! #marvmondays

  4. July 25, 2016 / 08:12

    How exciting to be starting school! You must be so proud 🙂 Wasn’t aware Debenhams did school wear, great value too!
    Aba recently posted…What is in my changing bag?My Profile

  5. July 25, 2016 / 10:29

    Ahhhh SO cute 🙂 Mine don’t go until next September and so I have all this to come! Uniform x2!! xx

  6. July 25, 2016 / 11:34

    Those tights are lovely!! I’m a sucker for tights for Erin. I know she’ll end up having loads for school.
    Lyndsey O’Halloran recently posted…My Mum BagMy Profile

  7. July 25, 2016 / 12:11

    All little T’s school clothes also came from Debenhams last term. Love the look of that traditional school dress. Most of T’s school clothes still fit her (I always order a size bigger!), unless of course she suddenly shoots up over the summer 🙂 Looks like your little one is indeed ready for school 🙂
    Dean of Little Steps recently posted…A Country Kids Post: Playing Tag with the WavesMy Profile

  8. joanna
    July 25, 2016 / 12:41

    How exciting that she will be starting school soon.
    I’ve never thought about debenhams doing school shoes my mum used to get mine from Clarke’s or a local shop that sold them.

  9. July 25, 2016 / 16:30

    Oooh she looks so grown up in her lovely new school uniform. I have to say it’s not somewhere I would have thought of sourcing a school uniform.
    Talya recently posted…How to save money as a mumMy Profile

  10. July 25, 2016 / 17:36

    I was always a fan of the white frilly socks in school! Always went through a load of them haha. I’ve never thought of Debenhams for school wear tbh, I always just think asda or tesco haha but I’m not at the school uniform stage yet so when it comes to that I’ll be looking everywhere.

    Jordanne ||
    Jordanne | Thelifeofaglasgowgirl recently posted…Parenting; Advice I DON’T WantMy Profile

  11. July 25, 2016 / 20:51

    Debenhams clothes are such great quality, and really good value too. We just bought loads of baby clothes from there.

  12. July 25, 2016 / 20:58

    I love how excited she is about starting school! Seems a long way off until I experience it with my little boy but I bet it will come round quickly! #marvmondays
    Abi recently posted…Loving YOUR Body Beautiful – Part 2My Profile

  13. July 26, 2016 / 07:36

    Oh gosh, she really does look grown up! Love those shoes – so classic and exactly what I think of when I think of school shoes. And I’m completely with you on the white frilly socks! Shame you can’t really get away with those as an adult! #MarvMondays
    Katy – Hot Pink Wellingtons recently posted…Living Arrows 30/52My Profile

  14. July 26, 2016 / 15:29

    Such a beautiful girl! I love the cute shoes and a nice pair of socks. Debenhams are always on point for school clothes.

  15. July 27, 2016 / 01:20

    Such an exciting time! Our little one starts school in September too and cant wait either, Just like Alice she asks me regularly when she will start school. Nice review of the Debenhams back to school range, I hadnt really considered them either but will do now. I love the little shoes and have entered the comp too 🙂 Thanks for sharing this on #MarvMondays. Emily

  16. July 28, 2016 / 12:01

    Ahhhh look at her in her uniform! She looks so adorable. You must be so proud, so scared and so full of emotion! I love the pinafore dress and the shoes. So sweet! x
    Chloe recently posted…INTERVIEW WITH A MUMPRENEUR – ANON DESIGNMy Profile

  17. July 28, 2016 / 21:46

    Oh she looks so adorable and grown up!! What great quality too

  18. maria hackett
    July 28, 2016 / 22:13

    she is so cute. My daughter Millys.s Birthday is in end of August and she starts school in September too. i can’t quiet believe it to be honest. she is my baby!!

  19. Kerry Norris
    July 29, 2016 / 07:04

    I’ve heard great things about debenhams school range. I’ll have to check it out. The shoes look so cute x

  20. Natalie Barker
    August 14, 2016 / 17:21

    I too buy my boys clothes from.Debenhams I have my oldest starting year 1 and my youngest startin.nursery so they both need a uniform. I love the Debenhams sales and as a card holder I sometimes get a voucher. I entered the competition good luck to everyone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge